Naked. And very, VERY excited.

Today is a big day. A big, bad, bracing-for-tomorrow day.  And tomorrow, as we know, is an even bigger, badder-than-today day.

After all this time and so many books, you’d think that I wouldn’t be the least bit excited. In fact, I told friends who asked, “No, it’s fine. You don’t get excited after all this time.”  But I was wrong. I woke up this morning and realized I was. Very. I can’t help it. Excited and proud and happy, and all the rest.

You see, I had a TV travel show. It seems like millennia ago now. A travel adventure show in which I flew around the world, visiting bizarre and exotic cultures and living among them for a few days. Sounds great, right? But I was totally wrong for it. Quite apart from all my phobias, I’m also allergic to a whole bundle of foods that can be lumped together under the single heading of “foreign.”

And that was it. Lions in Kenya. Bears in Alaska. Monks and landmines in Cambodia. Lesbians in Greece. Six days in hospital….

All very interesting, and the resulting show was great. Just not for the guy hosting it. For over a year I struggled through what became a mounting catastrophe of global proportions; a deep, dark crevasse of fears and horrors that I thought would never end. But it did. And that’s what the new book’s about.

Naked in Dangerous Places, the Chronicles of a Hungry, Scared, Lost, Homesick, But Otherwise Perfectly Happy Traveler.

The new travel book

The new travel book

Out tomorrow in paperback and on Kindle.

So indulge me please. Allow me my brief moment of confined excitement. I’ll be back writing the blog within a couple of days.

Hee hee.

www.cashpeters.com

If you want to see a brief, limited edition mini-documentary about the book, it’s on YouTube.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cash Peters, radio, television, Television commentary

Leave a Reply

