Weak as a kitten, but no vomiting yet.

Forgive me if I don’t blog today, but I have no energy. Only three days into my 100 day raw food challenge, blazing a trail towards wellness, and already my whole body is weak and aches, my arms will barely move, I have a sharp pain in my foot,  it takes both hands to lift a glass of water, and I think I may be developing restless leg syndrome.

So everything’s going according to plan.

The books, of course, warn you about the side-effects of switching from dead food to live food. It’s a jarring transition after so many years of eating rubbish and there are bound to be repercussions in the short-term, therefore I was expecting stuff to happen. A constant nasal drip perhaps. I’d even half-thought I might throw up now and again and I was braced for it. What I never could have predicted was that my body would shut down and refuse to budge. That’s a bit of a shocker.

Now I’m asking myself, is this fluey, spacey feeling part of the program, or am I simply not suited to eating raw?

After all, I use a lot of energy. Some – those who are scared of me – might even call me dynamic. So maybe I need more than this. I don’t know if it’s right for me to put only raw vegetables, fruits, nuts, and seeds into my stomach. I’m no doctor, God knows, but from what I can tell, my body seems to be craving something extra.

Cake, possibly.

And a Crawford’s shortbread cookie or two.

And you know what? My hunger antenna is picking up pie. Intuitively, my body seems to be indicating that it wants pie and wants it pretty badly.

Hm.

For now, though, I’ll ignore my intuition and continue to deprive myself. I have a breakfast of hemp seeds and blueberries to look forward to. I might feel different after that.

Weak or not, barely able to concentrate or not, I’ll press on with my life as though these feelings are normal and see what happens. If by next week I can only get out of bed with the help of an elaborate pulley system and trained help, or when I type this blog the bones in my fingers snap one by one, then I may have to reconsider this whole plan for eating 100% raw for 100 days.

Unlike Sarah Palin, I’m not a quitter. But like Sarah Palin, I think I know when to get out of the race to save my own skin. And that may be soon.

I’ll keep you posted.

www.cashpeters.com

Cash’s Book: Naked in Dangerous Places.

Cash’s movie: Fast and Very Loose.

2 Comments

Filed under Television commentary

2 responses to “Weak as a kitten, but no vomiting yet.

  1. mstockmyer

    Your symptoms sound similar to the first few days that a low-carb dieter gets when starting. Especially the lethargy and empty-calorie sugar cravings. Keep with it and you’ll get past it, although the fruit is probably not helping matters much.

    • You may be right. I think the first couple of weeks are about assimilation and find out what works. I’m eating lighter and lighter and finding I need to eat less and less.

      Thanks for encouragement.

Leave a Reply

