Chris Isaak, the Aftermath.

Apparently, one of the posts I wrote about The Chris Isaak Hour back in April of 09 predicting its almost assured cancellation, is still causing minor controversy with dedicated Isaak fans, who have leveled some pretty horrendous attacks at TV Swami and in one case even threatened violence against him – violence, though! – for holding an opinion they don’t agree with.

They also venture to suggest that he is not competent to offer his views about showbiz because he’s angry, he’s bitter, and he’s jealous about all TV performers on account of his own show being cancelled five years ago.

Wow. That’s quite an indictment. (It would also make a great plot for an Andrew Lloyd Webber musical). But here’s my counter-argument:

I really do like Chris Isaak. Honestly.

There. That should do it.

As weak as this might seem by way of a defense, it’s all I have. Isaak – again, in my opinion, so please don’t hit me – is an awesome performer, but not a good talk show host. Just as the Swami wasn’t a good travel show host – the viewers were right in both cases.

Luckily, TV Swami recovers fast. Yes, sir.  He is not angry or bitter about the cancellation of his show (grrrrr) and will be back writing posts again in 2010 once he completes his book.

In the meantime, I’m really, really sorry, Chris Isaak fans, that the show was cancelled, as I predicted. But you and he will bounce back, I just know it.  Chin up.

That said….how about four minutes of laughter involving a monkey?

www.cashpeters.com

2 Comments

Filed under Television commentary

2 responses to “Chris Isaak, the Aftermath.

  1. I did enjoy the ‘Chris Isaak Show’ on Showtime, interesting series. His talk show was good as well, in my opinion, for musicians. He actually seemed interested in the guests. I watched a few episodes of ‘Spectacle’ with Elvis Costello and I think he comes off self involved and uninterested in his guests. He also insists on murdering his guests songs to start the show…very odd. Nice blog and kudos on the post.

    • Thanks. I heard about that Elvis Costello thing. I’m still not sure why he’s even famous any more. Knows people, I guess. The Chris Izaak thing, though, was truly weak. He should stick to singing.

Leave a Reply

