The Worst Album Covers EVER – a Retrospective.

There is a fantastic website I want to refer you to. I’ve mentioned it before, but here it is again,  because it’s constantly being updated, and each time I go there I find myself struggling to breathe afterwards.

The concept is simple and unelaborately done, which is part of its strength. Basically, there’s a guy called Steve Carter. Don’t ask me who he is, I have no clue, but I have a feeling I’d like him a whole lot. He collects the worst album covers of all time. It was he who first drew our attention, for example, to the Handless Organist:

But really, there are so many more.  Albums such as this Wayne Newton classic:

And this one by Orion, the guy in the Muppet mask:

And who can forget (or remember) Maddy Genets and her fabulous attempt to become popular by relying solely on her looks?

Then there’s Dick Black, bless him, who probably doesn’t even know why his album’s so hilarious, it just is.

And finally, my personal favorite: All My Friends are Dead. A concept album that would put even the best marketing team in intensive care as they tried to figure out how to sell it to people without making them suicidal.

It goes on and on.

Believe me, this is just a taster. For a whole bunch more, and for a regularly updated gallery of the worst album covers EVER, bookmark http://www.stevecarter.com/albumcovers.htm, and if you have a really bad day ever, go back to it. It’s guaranteed to raise your spirits.

TV Swami – he laughing too much to write a blog today. Sorry.

Leave a comment

Filed under Television commentary

Leave a Reply

